This week’s Noreaster -update2

high tide on Thursday 3/7/13. The bay was about 6 inches below the bulkhead at the Point Lookout East Marina.

I did grab this picture at high tide on Thursday. The bay was about 6 inches below the bulkhead at the Point Lookout East Marina.

We lived! Best I can tell (please correct me if I’m wrong) there was no flooding in Point Lookout, Lido Beach, Island Park or Long Beach. I guess we need more than 4 ft above astronomical high tide to do that.
I have heard reports of flooding on Lawson Blvd in Oceanside overnight Friday night March 8, 2013.

I think that once that 5 ft above high tide happens, it’s probably quickly downhill from there, as you can see from this picture, taken at around 3.5-4 feet above.

I’m a big weather report skeptic, but after Sandy it’s better to stay calm but be aware of the potential risks.

I have to say, It’s pretty hard to update you all in this non-fluid format. – as we saw on Thursday PM. No sooner had I updated that everything was fine, then literally 5 minutes later the coastal flood warnings came in.

I feel obligated to share this weather information so people have more access to actual reports, Instead of just hyped up nonsense. I do realize, at the same time, I am obligated to remind everyone to stay safe rather than sorry.

what did you see?  how did the beach make out?

your thoughts here: Leave a Reply

