Rant on Brants

Brant Geese... where the heck did they come form?

Brant Geese… where the heck did they come from?

Maybe it’s just me not noticing them in years past, but this year we seem to have a huge flock of what someone told me are Brant geese in the area.

Brant geese between on and off ramp traffic at the Loop Parkway entrance

Brant geese between on and off ramp traffic at the Loop Parkway entrance

They’re different from the Canadian geese I’m so used to seeing. They have a shorter, fatter neck. They’re stockier, yet smaller than the Canada version.

see wikipedia Brant Goose

Brant geese at the Loop Parkway entrance walked right in front of my car

Brant geese at the Loop Parkway entrance walked right in front of my car

The reason I’ve noticed them is I cannot believe the numbers of them getting hit by cars on Lido Blvd outside town, and on the Loop Pkwy. It’s more than just a few that I’ve seen these past few weeks, at least 10, probably more.

There were 2 more dead just on the Loop Parkway yesterday.  This is just a slaughter. 

Ive seen a large number grazing the plazas on Park Ave in the east end of Long Beach… where theres been some hit as well.

I was wondering if they’re displaced by or disoriented from Sandy somehow.

They do seem to have taken over the west side of the Loop Parkway from the drawbridge on, where the regular Canada geese used to be and especially at the Loop Parkway entrance.
followLogo400

They just seem oblivious to danger from cars and seem to congregate close to the road (though they flew off when I got out and tried to get these pictures). I couldn’t get close enough to get the pictures I wanted without being near or in traffic on Lido Blvd, which is exactly the problem!

Brant geese at Nickerson Beach

Brant geese at Nickerson Beach

Like the Canadian geese crossing the road in a line, I’ve seen them doing this solo and in small numbers.
Anyone know about them?
Are they displaced or have I just not noticed them before?

Maybe we can keep an eye out to avoid hitting them on the road if they’re just further Sandy victims, just passing through?

One thought on “Rant on Brants

your thoughts here: Leave a Reply

