Fire Commissioner Weitz and Others Awarded Firematic Medal


Congratulations to Commissioner Steven Weitz and all the other Town of Hempstead Honorees awarded the Firematic Medal!
Special mention to the Island Park FD for actions during Superstorm Sandy!

From the Town of Hempstead:

Heroes of Sandy and Life-Saving Rescues Among Honorees at Hempstead Town’s 2013 Firematic Award Ceremony

With the one-year anniversary of Hurricane Sandy approaching, heartbreaking memories of devastation, tragedy and frustration are returning to the hearts and minds of those who experienced the wrath of the Superstorm. Amidst the destruction were tales of courage, chivalry and heroism, including the perseverance of a group of Island Park firefighters who fought through several feet of floodwaters and high wind gusts to rescue their neighbors from a fast-moving fire.

These brave men and women from the Island Park Fire Department were among 33 first responders honored by Supervisor Kate Murray and the Town Board during Hempstead Town’s annual Firematic Service Awards held at Town Hall. The 33 honorees represented 15 fire departments across America’s largest township.

Recipients were honored for various deeds, including life-saving rescues and acts of valor within the communities they serve.

“Heroes rise to the occasion, especially in times of adversity,” Murray said. “Tonight, we celebrated stories of heroism and benevolence, and expressed gratitude to the fine citizens that protect their neighbors each and every day.”

Other honorees include a chief of the East Meadow Fire Department who performed lifesaving CPR on a neighbor’s 10-month-old infant, and a member of the Point Lookout/Lido Fire Department whose quick actions saved a fellow firefighter.

The following 33 individuals were awarded the Town’s Firematic Medal for their distinguished service as members of the volunteer fire service community:

East Meadow Fire Department

Chief Walter P. Griffin, Jr.

East Rockaway Fire Department

Ex-Captain Patty Seifert

Floral Park Fire Department
Ex-Captain William Bedell, Jr.

Franklin Square and Munson Fire Dept.

Firefighter/EMT Justin Pons

Freeport Fire Department
Ex-Chief Julius Ellison

Island Park Fire Department

Former Captain Jason Cruz
1st Assistant Chief Anthony D’Esposito

Former Captain Chris Downs

Firefighter Joseph Garone

Firefighter Ryan Gaynor

Firefighter Sean Gaynor

Firefighter Thomas Gaynor

Firefighter Matt Graci

Captain James Miotto

Firefighter Karlton Nurnberger

Former Chief Ronald Nurnberger

Firefighter Michael Ostrander

Probationary Firefighter Marc Penetto

Firefighter Louis Quilca

Lieutenant Margaret Rodriguez

Captain James Sarro

Captain Kathryn Silliman

Firefighter Carlos Zapelli Jr.

Lakeview Fire Department

Ex-Chief Heather Senti

Levittown Fire Department

Captain Frank Cacioli

Firefighter Joseph DeSimone

Firefighter Nicholas Mouzakes

Lynbrook Fire Department

Honorary Chief William Myers

Mineola Fire Department

Ex-Chief and Warden Louis Santosus Jr.

Point Lookout/Lido Fire Department
Ex-Captain Steven Weitz

Rockville Centre Fire Department

Honorary Chief Thomas E. Cook

Seaford Fire Department

Ex-Chief Fred Roth

Westbury Fire Department

Ex-Chief Patrick Cody

Woodmere Fire Department

2nd Assistant Chief Benjamin J. Nelson


your thoughts here: Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s