Firefighter Suzanne Wiener Honored


From Town of Hempstead

Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray and members of the Town Board honored local volunteer first responders at Hempstead Town Hall’s Nathan L. H. Bennett Pavilion during the 2014 Firematic Awards Ceremony. Thirty-one individuals were honored with a Town of Hempstead Firematic Award for their courage and service to their communities and dedication to protecting neighbors.

“It’s important for us to recognize the volunteers who put their lives on the line for us each and every day,” Murray said. “These are our heroes, and I join with neighbors to thank them for protecting us and our lives and property.”

Some of this year’s recipients were honored for heroic rescues and courageous deeds, while others were saluted for decades of services to their departments and their communities. One of the honorees celebrated played a pivotal role in safeguarding lives and property in the wake of a dramatic oil tanker crash and explosion that occurred along Sunrise Highway in Bellmore this past December. A group of honorees incorporated teamwork into two dramatic rescues that saved the lives of two residents.

The following individuals were awarded the Town’s Firematic Medal for their distinguished service as members of the volunteer fire service community:

Bellmore Fire Department
1st Assistant Chief Daniel Holl

East Rockaway Fire Department
Members of the East Rockaway Rescue Squad:

Assistant Chief Gene M. Torborg
Ex-Captain Gary Stehr
2nd Lieutenant Juan Rodriguez
Firefighter/EMT Dominic Orlando
Ex-Captain Anthony O’Brien
Firefighter James McGlone
Ex-Captain Martin Lesser
Captain Kristen Sgro
Firemedic Brittney Geller
Firefighter Michael Leal
Firefighter Philip J. Smith Jr.
Firefighter Robert Weiss
Ex-Chief Joe Mihalich Jr.
Ex-Captain Robert Bristol
Firemedic Danielle Metzger
Firefighter John McKee
Firefighter Larry Ulip

Levittown Fire Department
Ex-Captain George Habermehl
Firefighter Thomas Filiberto

Lynbrook Fire Department

Captain Janice Germain
Firefighter Anthony LaBarca
Firefighter Christopher Boll

Mineola Fire Department
Lieutenant Kevin Nicoll

Point Lookout-Lido Fire Department
Firefighter Suzanne Wiener

Rockville Centre Fire Department
Firefighter Joseph R. Milone, Jr.

Wantagh Fire Department
Ex-Captain Thomas Brandon
Ex-Captain John Licata
Ex-Chief John Loeber
Firefighter/EMT Marcela Loeber
Ex-Captain Robert MacKay


your thoughts here: Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s